船家

BOAT OPERATOR


Yiu (耀 - “brilliant”)

Po Toi O (布袋澳)

10:00-18:00

“I’m a native of Po Toi O, born and bred here! There are only about 30-40 residents in the village, so it’s easy to get to know them all. Growing up, there was no water, no electricity and no telephone - not even a minibus to get to the main roads! So we had to get in and out by boat. I am a boat operator and work on my own schedule, taking people around the area to go on fishing trips and beach days out. I also love to fish - I come from a family of 9 generations of fishermen after all! My wife and I both grew up in Po Toi O and have known and played with each other since we were kids. All the kids used to gather and play together in the village. But I have far fewer friends around these days. Some of them have passed away and others have moved abroad. I still play Mahjong with some of the other villagers though - it’s a nice change from fishing!” 


「我係布袋澳嘅原居民,喺度出世喺度大!條村得三四十個村民,所以全部人都識得㗎喇。我仲係細路嗰陣,呢度冇水、冇電、冇電話線,更加冇出大路嗰㗎小巴啦!所以我哋出出入入都係靠揸艇。我係船家嚟嘅,鐘意就開工,帶人出去釣魚同埋去附近啲沙灘咁。我都鍾意釣魚㗎,話哂屋企九代人都係漁民吖嘛!我老婆同我都喺布袋澳大嘅,細細個已經一齊玩㗎喇。以前全部細路都會聚埋一齊喺條村度玩。不過而家少咗好多朋友喺度喇。有啲過咗身,有啲去咗外國。我都仲會同其他村民打下麻雀嘅,唔釣魚打下麻雀都幾好吖!」  


“My wife and I moved out into this floating house at the edge of Po Toi O a few years ago. We love it here - it’s so peaceful and quiet, and we sleep so well at night. I built the house all by myself. It’s hard work but also very satisfying to create something that you learned to do from scratch. When we get older we’ll probably move back on land, as it will be more challenging for us to do all the maintenance work. But for now, we are very happy here. Many years ago, I worked at the Clearwater Bay Country Club as a gardener - mowing the green lawns and maintaining the golf course. From there, I became a private yacht driver for over 20 years. That job gave me the opportunity to travel all around the world - Australia, Maldives, the Philippines…it was such a fantastic experience and took me from my little fishing village to all corners of the world!”


“I’m 70 years old. Some people tell me that I look quite young for my age and ask me what my secret is. I don’t have one! I eat everything - soda, milk tea, sweets - cholesterol, no cholesterol, I don’t care. I’m blessed so far with a healthy body and mind. I guess it helps to be easygoing and positive. I have three daughters and one son. They’ve all moved out of the village but we are all still very close. I’m not one of those strict traditional Chinese fathers. I’m pretty relaxed and like to have open conversations with them. I also have some adorable grandchildren that I can play with. They can all swim now - like me, they love the water too!”

.

 

「我老婆同我幾年前搬咗嚟呢間水上屋,喺布袋澳嘅最出邊。我哋好鍾意呢度呀,好寧靜好舒服,我哋夜晚瞓得好好。呢間屋係我一手一腳搭出嚟嘅。花咗唔少工夫,但係好滿足,由乜嘢都冇,到自己學識整到啲嘢嘛。我哋老啲就應該會搬返上岸,到時可能做唔掂呢度啲維修工夫。不過而家我哋喺到都仲好開心。好多年前,我喺清水灣鄉村俱樂部嗰度做花王,負責剷草同埋打理個高爾夫球場。跟住我就變咗喺嗰度揸遊艇,揸咗超過廿年。呢個工作令我有機會去世界唔同地方,澳洲呀、馬爾代夫、菲律賓……係好精彩嘅經歷,帶我由條漁村仔去到世界唔同角落﹗」

 

「我今年70歲。有啲人話我個樣唔似咁大,問我有咩秘訣。我冇㗎 !我咩都食,汽水呀、奶茶、糖、膽固醇、冇膽固醇,我唔理㗎。我好幸運到而家個身體同個腦都仲幾健康。我諗個人輕鬆同埋樂觀啲都有關嘅。我有三個囡一個囝,佢哋全部都搬哂出去囉,不過我哋感情仲好好。我唔係傳統華人嗰種嚴父。我都幾輕鬆,鍾意同佢哋傾吓計。我仲有幾粒好可愛嘅孫,有得俾我玩吓。佢哋而家全部都識游水㗎喇,同我一樣鍾意個海嘛﹗」

.​

 Previous Story

Cooked Food Center Operator

Next Story 

Golf Ball Seller

Get in touch to sponsor a story or crowdfund a storytelling campaign!